Our Board Members

Ms Olga Havnen

Professor Sven Silburn

Professor Gary Robinson

Ms Jacqueline Carroll

Mrs Gurruwun Yunupingu

Dr Jo Wright

Ms Donna Ah Chee

The Honourable Justice Hilary Hannam

Ms Susan Bowden 











































Professor Sven Silburn, BSc (Psych), BSc (Hons), MSc (Clin Psych)

Founding Director, Centre for Child Development and Education

  • Previous appointments: Profesorial Fellow and Director, Centre for Developmental Health, Telethon Institute for Child health Research & Curtin University, Perth, WA, 2000-2008
  • Senior Clinical Lecturer, TVW Telethon Institute for Child Health Research & Department of Paediatrics, University of Western Australia, 1991 – 2000
  • Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Health Department of Western Australia, 1990 – 1991
  • Senior Clinical Psychologist, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Services, Health Department of Western Australia, 1978 - 1989

Professor Gary Robinson

Director Centre for Child Development and Education


Professor John Mathews, AM, BSC, MBBS, MD, PhD, DSC Hon, FRACP, FRCPA, FAFPHM

Executive Director of the Menzies Foundation since 2009

  • Director of the Menzies Foundation since 2008
  • Health Research Consultant
  • Hon Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne
  • Previous Appointments:Founding Director, Menzies School of Health Research; Head of the National Centre for Disease Control; Deputy Chief Medical Officer to the Australian Government



Ms Jacqueline Carroll

Professor Collette Tayler

Chair of Early Childhood Education and Care, Melbourne Graduate School of Education

  • Deputy Chair, Australian Children's Education and Care Quality Authority Board
  • Member, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority Board
  • Member, Strategy Portfolio Board, Victorian Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Member, Save the Children Australia Programme Committee
  • Adjunct Professor, Queensland University of Technology 



Dr Jo Wright

Mrs Gurruwun Yunupingu 

Teacher, Activist for two-way learning

  • Chair, Early Childhood Indigenous Reference Group, Families as First Teachers
  • Board, Bunuwal Investment Group
  • Board, Northern Territory Teacher's Registration
  • Co-ordinator, PACE
  • Previous appointments: Senior Teacher ET2, Primary; Board, Yothu Yindi Foundation


The Honourable Justice Hillary Hannam

Ms Susan Bowden MEd, BEd

Deputy Chief Executive, School Education, Department of Education

Previous appointments: Executive Director School Support Services DoE, Director Centre for School Leadership DoE, General Manager Student Service DoE, Principal and Teacher in the Northern Territory and Queensland.

Board, Member Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

Board, Member Northern Territory Board of Studies (NTBOS)




Ms Donna Ah Chee